Pre-Law Preparations

I was going to title this post “Pre-Law Woes,” but I’m trying to be optimistic. As the June LSAT approaches, I find myself with less anxiety than I anticipated. That’s not to say that I’m not worried–this test is huge and I know how much of a mind game the whole thing is–but I know how nerves can negatively affect me in these situations. I’ve done my preparations and this is my second time taking this terribly long and exhausting exam. Now, I just need to practice going through the motions of logic games, reading comprehension, and logical reasoning until the day of the exam. 

Education is something my family has always valued. From when I was a child, my parents always prompted me to read; I was a very curious kid who read voraciously. History has always been a favorite subject of mine, and I have always enjoyed writing. Political Science found me later in high school, but I have come to love this field, as well. As I inch towards my last year of undergrad, I’m forcing myself to reconsider my post-grad plans. I want to go to law school–100% absolutely–but I’m not sure I want to pursue a typical career in law. I’m not argumentative, but I like rules and organization. I’m eager to get started with my study of law, but I’m not sure I want to leave political science and history behind.

Since writing my thesis in the fall of this past year, I’ve begun to reconsider my previous vow to never go into academia. The whole process was a lot of work, but it was incredibly rewarding. Looking back, I actually enjoyed it! I’ve also been coming to terms with the fact that I don’t know exactly what I want to do with my life. My mom still says she’s not sure what she wants to do when she grows up.

So, I am planning to go into the June LSAT with my nerves at ease. I’ve done all of this before, I know what to expect, and this score does not make or break my career. It’s so weird how, by just keeping in mind that I have options and that my career path is not set in stone, that I’m managing to not freak out like last time. Maybe there’s something to this positive outlook, thing.  

Leave a Reply

