The Importance of Skincare

As a twenty-something Floridian–and a pale one at that–I have come to appreciate dearly a good skincare regimen. After years of battling teenage hormone flares and sun burns (read: sunscreen-less swim and water polo practices) with mediocre or over-the-counter products that simply did not work with my skin, I’ve started to make my skin a priority. Having healthy, clear skin really does loads for one’s self-confidence. Even though I dearly love makeup and enjoy trying new products out–especially from my favorite line, Trish McEvoy–it’s just so nice to be able to go without makeup and not worry about how your skin looks.

 

Today, I had my first hydrafacial of the summer. What is a hydrafacial, you ask? Well, it’s pretty much a God-send to anyone who has been dealing with persistent acne, especially (I think) if you’ve never really had bad enough skin to merit Accutane but still need more than Neutrogena. Basically, it’s a medical facial that uses a small pen-like feature that uses suction and special cleansers to clean your skin right up. It’s sort of along the lines of a Clarisonic brush, but it incorporates more lotions and potions than simply scrubbing at the skin. Also, hydrafacials work wonders when combined with good skin care products–pretty much anything along the lines of the Obagi or Dermess products, both of which are anti-aging and great for everyone.

 

Hydrafacials can be a bit pricy, which is the only drawback I see from them. They’re generally administered, as far as I can tell, at plastic surgeon’s or dermatologist’s offices. However, they’re a pretty tried-and-true procedure and, I think, well worth the occasional money. They help prevent lines and wrinkles in the skin, as well as help to reduce those one might already have, and are all-around great for your skin. I’m happy to say that I’m not bothering with makeup for the day!

Leave a Reply

