#SummerInLilly

If the imposing heat of the midday sun had not tipped us Floridians off to the idea that summer was officially here, then the summer line of Lilly Pulitzer clothes certainly did. 

 

I never really had an interest in Lilly Pulitzer clothes while I was in high school, which is something I have come to regret. I blame my awful school uniforms for limiting my scope of style, but, truth be told, I always though Lilly Pulitzer was a bit too…pink for me. True, the majority of the clothes in my closet are somewhere between a dark blue and black, but that doesn’t diminish my newfound love of Lilly. 

 

I discovered Lilly at the end of my freshman year in college. In desperate need of a dress to wear to my oldest friend’s graduation (read: excuse to shop), I ventured into what I had previously considered to be sorority-only-territory. Let me tell you, that short and successful shopping trip was an eye-opening experience. Leaving with a dress–a pink one, no less, in the chin chin pattern–quickly snowballed into a small-scale obsession. Even though I hold brands like Theory and Vince near and dear to my heart, I can’t help but enjoy the whimsy that comes with Lilly Pulitzer. I admit that some of the patterns and styles are a bit much for me, but that’s not to say I don’t think they’re adorable on someone else. 

 

More to the point–my local Lilly store was having a special event today. I may have underestimated the girl from the store who called me earlier in the week to describe the festivities. You can’t get much more summery than a steel drum band playing continuously throughout the day. I definitely felt a little out of place in my black Theory tank and olive Theory shorts. Anyway, my mom and I spent a nice afternoon browsing after a wonderful lunch, and I left with a great t-shirt dress and a gorgeous halter that would go wonderfully with jeans. All in all, successful shopping trip. 

Leave a Reply

